Anarchist Anonymous

This morning i got a response from Freedom who have kindly offered to support an AA session if i should want to. Amazing! That’s one email, and people willing to support and help find a way to make something happen.

This reminds me again of general society’s constant drive and concern around efficiency, something coming right out of profit driven activities.

Today is a friends birthday so we are travelling to spend time together. I feel kinda anxious as isn’t Monday a work day? Aren’t we supposed to only do social activities weekends and evenings. When we think about this simple idea, it’s so crazy to think that the majority of our life functions like this. We know deep down inside this is very backwards. We can try to argue it, to justify it, but the moment we take away payment for our time, i.e. going to work for free, we’d immediately switch to something we want to do.

I travel often with a beanie, it has an anarchist pin on it. I wonder what people think when they see it. I imagine being stopped by someone, someone curious, asking questions, needing some support. I imagine another anarchist reaching out, a friendship being made. A common struggle bringing people together.

I’m anxious about doing this AA session, but then i think about someone like me, who this might be exactly what they need or might inspire them to investigate or share some experiences. I think of what a month later would feel like, a year later, and that excites me and drives me to do it anyway.

I become the anarchist who does something about it. It’s simple, it’s in the actions. It’s always in the actions.