Get in my mouth!

I was shown this video a few days ago and I keep thinking about it. It’s of a bird trying to eat a caterpillar. Presumably it still thinks like it did when fed by the parent bird, in that food just falls into its mouth. It chases round this caterpillar, expecting it to just fall in. It obviously doesn’t.

I thought about how we have been trained from school, and even earlier in many cases, to think and act a certain way. A propaganda forcing us into a society that revolves around capitalism, around competition, around fear, around ownership. Just like the bird, unable to grasp how it could be different.

I spoke to someone I did some web work for years back, and this time our worlds met differently. We talked about COVID a little, but mainly we spoke about kids and then eventually adults, wrapped up in their adult school uniforms, the suits. She kept saying “It’s a load of bollocks”, and I couldn’t agree more. I was surprised to hear it honestly, I was surprised that today I was to meet someone who would have just as much energy and need to say how fucking shit this system is. It felt good.

I wonder what I might have done before, and the difference between having the thought, and saying it loud. Just the simple act of saying it, and stating a view, it’s amazing how much that shapes the world you are in.

When we picture something that seems so far removed from where we are now, we picture something seemingly so radical, to happen in the streets through protest, with fire, flags waving and violence, and sure, maybe there needs to be some of that, I mean what do you do when the police force attack people we opposing views? Assholes.

I wonder how much impact there can be through simple daily actions, in our behaviour, in our words, so we can more easily understand the shift through actions, through our own experiences, and those be more easily practiced in a variety of environments.

I’m sure that bird isn’t still walking around waiting for food to jump in its mouth, so why the fuck are we still walking around expecting this shit to change if we don’t change.